Leadership & Staff

2023 Plc And Deans Group Photo
President's Leadership Council and Deans' Council 2023-2024

University Leadership

The President is elected by the Board of Trustees from among the members of the Priests Society of the Congregation of Holy Cross, United States Province of Priests and Brothers.

With the support of the President's Leadership Council and deans, the President acts as the executive head of the University and is responsible for the general direction of its affairs.

University Leadership and Governance


Office of the President Staff

Ann Firth

Vice President and Chief of Staff

Ann M. Firth serves as vice president and chief of staff to Notre Dame’s 18th president, Rev. Robert A. Dowd, C.S.C. Firth’s responsibilities include: advising the president; managing the staff and operations of the office; serving as the primary liaison to the University’s Board of Trustees; serving as a member of the Budget Working Group and the Faculty Board on Athletics; coordinating the work of the President’s Leadership Council; and leading the planning for the University’s Commencement Exercises and other University-wide events hosted by the President.