Four Notre Dame graduates elected to House, one to Senate

Author: Bridget Doyle

200x American flag

Four University of Notre Dame graduates were elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in Tuesday’s election, and alumnus Joe Donnelly of Indiana is the second Notre Dame graduate to be elected to the U.S. Senate, and the fourth to serve.

Democrat Peter Visclosky, a 1973 Notre Dame Law School graduate, won his 15th term in Congress representing District 1 in Indiana.

Republicans Peter King and Michael Kelly also were re-elected to their eleventh and second terms in New York and Pennsylvania, respectively. King graduated from the Law School in 1968, and Kelly earned a bachelor’s degree in 1970. Additionally, Keith Rothfus, a 1990 alumnus, became the first Republican elected to Pennsylvania’s 12th Congressional District in four decades.

Democrat Donnelly, a 1977 alumnus, was graduated from the Law School in 1981 and has served in the U.S. House of Representatives since 2006. This will be his first term in the Senate, and he joins 1922 alumnus David Clark as one of only two Notre Dame graduates to be elected to the Senate.

John Gearin, an 1871 graduate, and Edward Carville, a 1909 alumnus, both were appointed to unexpired terms in the Senate. Gearin, from Oregon, served from 1905-07, and Carville, from Nevada, served from 1945-47.

Originally published by Susan Guibert at on November 07, 2012.